Skip to main content
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Register now to learn Fabric in free live sessions led by the best Microsoft experts. From Apr 16 to May 9, in English and Spanish.

Anonymous
Not applicable

What to watch out for when implementing a calendar table?

Hi guys, 
I'm relatively new to PowerBI but come from a background in SQL and Data Warehousing.
Looking for some guidance as to what I should look out for when implementing a calendar table into a data model. 
The data set I'm working with is corporate so I can't reveal too much. But think of it as similar to an IT Service Desk. With times for tasks being received, logged, attended and completed. 

I've been trying to implement a calendar table into the data model for time intelligence and slicers. However when using the calendar table, my visualisations and tables go blank. I have checked the relationship types, filter direction, data types. My current workaround is to extract the required parts of a date column within the data set which works nicely. However, I am needing to use the DateDiff function to work out how long it takes for email tasks to be logged, filtering  out weekends and non working hours. So a calendar table would be useful. 

Here is the DAX used.

Dates =

VAR DAYS = CALENDAR( MIN(FM_Task_Detail[Task Logged Date]), MAX(FM_Task_Detail[Task Logged Date]))

RETURN

ADDCOLUMNS(

DAYS,

"Year", YEAR( [Date] ),

"Month Number", MONTH( [Date] ),

"Month", FORMAT([Date], "MMMM"),

"Year Month Number", YEAR ([Date]) * 12 + MONTH( [Date] ) -1,

"Year Month", FORMAT ( [Date], "MM YY" ),

"DateKey", FORMAT ( [Date], "YYMMDD" )

)

Thanks a million!

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

Hi @Anonymous