Skip to main content
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Earn the coveted Fabric Analytics Engineer certification. 100% off your exam for a limited time only!

Jawed
Helper III
Helper III

What is the DAX equivalent?

Hi everyone,

Despite the fact that I am new to Power BI, I am really enjoying the experience. Any way, I am using the below measure which gives me the result I want. However, I believe there may be a much better and efficient way of getting to the same result. I have my TB and it is showing my Chart of Account codes at the most granular level. I have asked it to categorise each of them in terms of whether they are a fixed asset, current asset, Current liability, etc. Below is the formula and I would be grateful if you could suggest a better DAX equivalent to my old style Excel functions that I have brought with me to Power BI. Thank you,

Category detail =
IF (
    AND ( TB[BS Category] = "3.Assets"LEFT ( TB[Subaccount Name], 2 ) <= "10" ),
    "3.2Fixed Asset",
    IF (
        AND ( TB[BS Category] = "3.Assets"LEFT ( TB[Subaccount Name], 2 ) > "10" ),
        "3.1Current Asset",
        IF (
            AND (
                TB[BS Category] = "4.Liabilities",
                LEFT ( TB[Subaccount Name], 2 ) = "23"
            ),
            "4.2Long-Term Liability",
            IF (
                AND (
                    TB[BS Category] = "4.Liabilities",
                    LEFT ( TB[Subaccount Name], 2 ) <> "23"
                ),
                "4.1Current Liabilities",
                IF (
                    AND ( TB[BS Category] = "5.Equity"LEFT ( TB[Subaccount Name], 1 ) = "3" ),
                    "5.1Reserve",
                    IF (
                        AND ( TB[BS Category] = "5.Equity"LEFT ( TB[Subaccount Name], 1 ) >= "4" ),
                        "5.2CY Op.Surplus"
                    )
                )
            )
        )
    )
)

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION
v-shex-msft
Community Support