Skip to main content
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Register now to learn Fabric in free live sessions led by the best Microsoft experts. From Apr 16 to May 9, in English and Spanish.

rcorrales
Frequent Visitor

Weeks of inventory forecast coverage

Hi everyone, 

First-time poster here, I've been using PowerBI for a few months, but I have no idea how to tackle this problem. I need to calculate how many weeks will my current inventory cover for a customer forecast demand. 

My data source looks like this:

PartWk 20Wk 21Wk 22Wk 23Wk 24Wk 25Wk 26Wk 27Wk 28Wk 29Current inventory

The result I want to get is the following:

PartWeeks of coverage 

The logic I'm coming up with is to sum the first week on the source, and if it is less than the current inventory, add another week, until the week cumulative sum is higher than the current inventory, then return the number of weeks added. 

I'm not sure if this is possible, it makes sense in my head but I have no idea how to attack this problem. If you could provide some hints on how to solve I would really appreciate it. 

Thanks!

Edit:

I found a way to do it in Excel, the formula is the following:

=MATCH(L2,SUBTOTAL(9,OFFSET(B2,,,,COLUMN(B2:L2)-COLUMN(B2))),1)-1

How can I translate this into PowerBI?

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION
v-xicai
Community Support
Community Support

Hi @rcorrales 

Following steps below to achieve your requirement.

1.Upivot the week column, click on column Wk20-Wk29, click "Unpivot Columns", rename this result column with "Week". Don't forget to click the "Close & Apply" button.

4.png

2.Create columns and measure like DAX below.

Column: Rank = CALCULATE(COUNT(Table1[Value]),FILTER(ALLSELECTED(Table1),Table1[Part]=EARLIER(Table1[Part])&&Table1[Week]<=EARLIER(Table1[Week])))

Column: Cumulative_sum = CALCULATE(SUM(Table1[Value]),FILTER(ALLSELECTED(Table1),Table1[Part]=EARLIER(Table1[Part])&&Table1[Week]<=EARLIER(Table1[Week])))