Skip to main content
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Register now to learn Fabric in free live sessions led by the best Microsoft experts. From Apr 16 to May 9, in English and Spanish.

dimitrischo
Helper I
Helper I

Week on Week , Month on Month Analysis

Hi,

I am a noob to power bi and i am trying to give reports that they are going to have week on week analysis and month on month.

This moment i Have all of my data in excel which are rows from multiple users

Example.

Date Name Sales

1/1/2016 Dimitris 10

1/1/2016 John 12

1/2/2016 Dimitris 14

1/2/2016 John 20

1/8/2016 Dimitris 4

1/8/2016 john 12

etc....

So now I need to group them by week and every week to be automated updated with the last week to be the max week on my data and the previous one. And next to that percentage % of change to have a green icon if it is positive and a red one if it is negative. more specific like this one in excel...

WoWMoM
-0,5-0,25
-1-0,5

Untitled.png

Is there anyone who can help me?

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION
v-qiuyu-msft
Community Support
Community Support

Hi @dimitrischo,

To calculate the difference month on month and week on week, you can create a calendar table, and build the relationship based on date value between calendar table and fact table. Then create measures like below:

MOM =
VAR PreMonth = CALCULATE( MAX( 'Calendar'[Month] ) ) - 1
return
( IF(CALCULATE( MAX( 'Calendar'[Month] ) )=1,BLANK(),
 (SUM('Fact'[Sales])-CALCULATE( SUM( 'Fact'[Sales] ), FILTER( ALL('Fact'), MONTH( 'Fact'[Date] ) = PreMonth ) ))/CALCULATE( SUM( 'Fact'[Sales] ), FILTER( ALL('Fact'), MONTH( 'Fact'[Date] ) = PreMonth ) )
))

WOW =
VAR PreWeek = CALCULATE( MAX( 'Calendar'[Week] ) ) - 1
return
(IF(CALCULATE( MAX( 'Calendar'[Week] ) )=1,BLANK(),
 (SUM('Fact'[Sales])-CALCULATE( SUM( 'Fact'[Sales] ), FILTER( ALL('Fact'), WEEKNUM( 'Fact'[Date] ) = PreWeek ) ))/CALCULATE( SUM( 'Fact'[Sales] ), FILTER( ALL('Fact'), WEEKNUM( 'Fact'[Date] ) = PreWeek ) )
))