Skip to main content
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Earn the coveted Fabric Analytics Engineer certification. 100% off your exam for a limited time only!

Schoif-D
Helper I
Helper I

Waterfall Chart not using dates

Hi

Im very new to Power BI, literally only started playing with it yesterday, and there is a chart i use to do in excel, that i would like to replicate in Power BI, but, im finding this difficult and every help page i search on Google just shows me that the X Axis is always in a date range, i have tried to create a Pie, Bar and Donut chart then swapping to Waterfall but it doesnt work, how can i create this chart below in Power BI?

Capture.PNG

2 ACCEPTED SOLUTIONS

@Schoif-D

I see in your dataset, the first step should be doing a unpivot.

Capture.PNG

Then replace the currency symbol with blank and convert that column to whole number.

Capture.PNG

In the waterfall chart, use the attribute and value column.

Capture.PNG

As to the axis order in the waterfall chart, check this thread Sorting Data Manually.

Check more details in the attached pbix file.

View solution in original post

Add columns through the query editor uses M language not DAX (click "Advanced Editor" in the query pane to see the M code)

If you instead create a calculated column on the report layout page, your code is accurate.

Hope this helps

David

View solution in original post

14 REPLIES 14
Schoif-D
Helper I
Helper I

To all of you @dedelman_clng @Eric_Zhang @Sean and @Phil_Seamark thank you all for your help its finally how i want it to look, all except the total bar, but im not stressing over that for now, thanks again

Capture.PNG

@Schoif-D

It is great to hear you finally figured it out. If no further questions, you can accept the replies making sensing as solution to close this thread. For any new questions, you can raise another thread.Smiley Happy

Phil_Seamark
Employee
Employee

Hi @Schoif-D,