cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
vamshik153 Helper IV
Helper IV

Want to know about Data Flows

Hi all,

Can anyone let me know what are Dataflows actually and how is it useful? i have been working with power bi since 9 months, i usually get my data from oracle database using "Get data" option dealing with 20 millions of data. So, how Data flows concept helps me here.

Looking for answers.

TIA

2 ACCEPTED SOLUTIONS

Accepted Solutions
Super User III
Super User III

Re: Want to know about Data Flows

Take a look here: https://ssbipolar.com/2018/11/22/positioning-power-bi-dataflows/ 

Dataflows can reduce the amount of queries sent to the underlying datasources. So especially if you don't have a datawarehouse but query your (ERP-) systems directly with many users, storing data in dataflows can make sense for example.

If you liked my solution, please give it a thumbs up. And if I did answer your question, please mark my post as a solution. Thanks!

Imke Feldmann

How to integrate M-code into your solution -- How to get your questions answered quickly -- How to provide sample data -- Check out more PBI- learning resources here -- Performance Tipps for M-queries

View solution in original post

Microsoft V-lianl-msft
Microsoft

Dataflows can help organizations unify data from disparate sources and prepare it for modeling.
You can refer to these:

Best Regards,
Liang
If this post helps, then please consider Accept it as the solution to help the other members find it more quickly.

2 REPLIES 2
Super User III
Super User III

Take a look here: https://ssbipolar.com/2018/11/22/positioning-power-bi-dataflows/ 

Dataflows can reduce the amount of queries sent to the underlying datasources. So especially if you don't have a datawarehouse but query your (ERP-) systems directly with many users, storing data in dataflows can make sense for example.