Skip to main content
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Earn the coveted Fabric Analytics Engineer certification. 100% off your exam for a limited time only!

Graitec
Regular Visitor

Visual filter from a DAX Sumx filter expression

Hi,

I want to query the number of licences which are active for each week so I can show the increase in licences over time.  I have created two date tables as below which work, I suspect there is a better way of doing this but I'm quite new to PBI.

Dates - All Table

Dates - All = GENERATE ( CALENDAR(
DATE ( 2018, 1, 1 ),
TODAY()),
VAR currentDay = [Date]
VAR month = MONTH ( currentDay )
VAR year = YEAR ( currentDay )
RETURN ROW (
"MonthStartDate", DATE(year,month,01),"WeekStartDate",[Date]-weekday([Date],1)+1)
)

Dates - Week/Year Table

Dates - Week/Year = VALUES('Dates - All'[WeekStartDate])

I then add the following column to the Dates - Week/Year Table,

Number of Active Licences = Sumx(filter(Purchases,Purchases[License Expiry Date]<'Dates - Week/Year'[WeekStartDate] && Purchases[Count Filter]="True" && Purchases[Software Type]="Autodesk" && RELATED('Business Units'[Business Unit])="UK"),Purchases[Quantity])

It works prefectly however, as you can see in the DAX above, I have hard coded the Business Unit which is related the Purchases table to be UK.  So my question is how can I allow the user from the web version of this report to easily filter the licences by different Business Units?  Clearly the visual filter won't work because the filter is hard coded into the DAX.

I know I could do this using a parameter and a PBI template file but I don't want the users to have to use PBI desktop, I would like this to be done using the web interface only.

Any help would be really appreciated.

Thanks
1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

Hi @Graitec ,

Would you please refer to the measure below: