Skip to main content
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Register now to learn Fabric in free live sessions led by the best Microsoft experts. From Apr 16 to May 9, in English and Spanish.

Anonymous
Not applicable

Visual Filter not woking as expected

Hi All,

I am new to PowerBI and I am trying to achieve a particular logic with multiple charts. I'm in the half way but stuck in one position.

Here's the problem.

I've two bar charts. Each of them having 2 levels of details on X-axis. I'm not using a drilldown feature, they are showing in a single level hierarchy. When I am clicking on one of the bar charts, the other chart should highlight accordingly. both charts using the % of total as value field with different slicers. so, ideally if I filter on one bar in the first chart, the second chart should highlight the single bar. 

Here I have used one more logic which is in DAXquery to calculate the % of total. Per requirement, we shouldnt use the %GT (% of Grand Total) feature in the value field. We have to use the % of group total of one of the x-axis value. So, I used a measure to calculate the same, by grouping the axis value.

Now, When I click on the bar chart, it highlights all the bars in the second chart. its wrong ideally. And if I remove the grouping fucntionality in the DAX query, it works well. but the values will not be as expected.

Here's the DAX query I have used for getting % of group total for each chart.

ByHTypeValue = DIVIDE(CALCULATE(sum('VW_MODEL'[TotalValue]),
        ALLSELECTED('VW_MODEL'[Xaxis1])),  
        CALCULATE(sum('VW_MODEL'[TotalValue]),
            ALLSELECTED('VW_MODEL'[Xaxis2),
            ALLSELECTED('VW_MODEL'[Xaxis1] ),
            ALLSELECTED('VW_MODEL'[HType] ) ))

ByMTypeValue = DIVIDE(CALCULATE(sum('VW_MODEL'[TotalValue]),
        ALLSELECTED('VW_MODEL'[Xaxis1])),  
        CALCULATE(sum('VW_MODEL'[TotalValue]),
            ALLSELECTED('VW_MODEL'[Xaxis2),