Skip to main content
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Register now to learn Fabric in free live sessions led by the best Microsoft experts. From Apr 16 to May 9, in English and Spanish.

Colleen
Helper I
Helper I

Viewing months based on current date on charts

Hello, 

How can I change the order and view of months on the x-axis on a graph?

I need to display financial YTD sales information. I have used the time intelligence functions to create a new column to display this for me which works as I wish. However, when I come to display this information it starts from January and extends to December (which as this hasn't occured leaves a plateau in the graph). 

Either I need to display from april (the start of our financial year) to the current month, or from last year to the current month. E.g as it is august 2019, the x-axis should run from September-18, to August-19. Next month that would then change accordingly.

I am new to Power BI so please as much information as possible would be fab. 

Ideally this graph would run from Sep-18 (which you cannot see from this view) to Aug-19Ideally this graph would run from Sep-18 (which you cannot see from this view) to Aug-19

Thanks in advance,

Colleen

2 ACCEPTED SOLUTIONS
pbeye
Resolver II
Resolver II

Here's how I would do it:

1. Make a copy of your date column getting the start of the month: startofmonth = STARTOFMONTH(dates[yourdatecolumnhere])

2. Change the format of that column to March 2001 in the Modeling tab.
  3. Add to your chart and make sure the X axis is listed as categorical. 

You should end up with something like this:

Capture.PNG

View solution in original post

Ah, I see. It's because of your measure formula. Here's what I think are your options:

1. You can remove your measure and replace it with the LineTotExcl field instead. That will include the missing months, but will make your chart start at January.