Skip to main content
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Register now to learn Fabric in free live sessions led by the best Microsoft experts. From Apr 16 to May 9, in English and Spanish.

Budfudder
Helper IV
Helper IV

Verification Of Logic

I'm new to PowerBI and just want someone to verify that I'm taking the correct approach.

I have a DB table which contains a record for each order we receive. Management wants a report showing how many orders we received in the last week, how many between 1 and 2 weeks ago, how many between 2 and 3 weeks ago, how many between 3 and 4 weeks ago, and how many more than 4 weeks ago.

So I created a new column (call it DaysSinceOrder) and populated it with the DATEDIFF between the order date and NOW() in days. Then I created a new column for each of the 'buckets' and gave each a value of 1 if the row's DaysSinceOrder value is within the range of that bucket. So for the 'Last Week' bucket, it was:

IF (DaysSinceOrder <= 7, 1, 0)

For the 1-2 week bucket, it was:

If (DaysSinceOrder >7 && DaysSinceOrder <= 14, 1, 0)

And so forth.

Then I just dragged those columns to the visualization.

That works - I can verify the values it comes up with from another source. I just want to know if I'm doing it correctly or if I'm missing some much easier method.

The second question is - can I do much the same thing for the value of each order? Then the 'Last Week' bucket would be:

IF (DaysSinceOrder <= 7, OrderValue, 0)

and so forth.

Thanks in advance.

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION
Anonymous
Not applicable

The best answer I can give is that "If it works, you've done it correctly". However correctly and efficiently are two different things.

Even in my own work, I could have done better and often through hard work i'm able to optimise my solutions to achieve the same result with either cleaner code, or with less processing time.