Skip to main content
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Register now to learn Fabric in free live sessions led by the best Microsoft experts. From Apr 16 to May 9, in English and Spanish.

aminaKh
Frequent Visitor

Using view object as data source

Hello,

I'm very new to Power BI ^^" and i need your advice,

One of my clients requests to create Power BI reports but wants us to only use a view that will contain all of the data that we will use in the report. He strictly doesn't want to use the tables directly and make the connections (in a star) in power bi. Do you think this is judicious? Why are people talking about using models in Power BI (exp: star o) if we can just create one view that contains all data ?

Thank u,

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

Hi @aminaKh ,

In my opinion, the star schema model still has highly performance in this case as you said even it comes from SQL server. If we just use only one table, when we need to create some measures or use formulas, it could be complicated. In stead of star schema model, the relationship between tables are clearly so that we can transfer them easily.

Best Regards,
Yingjie Li

If this post helps then please consider Accept it as the solution to help the other members find it more quickly.

View solution in original post

4 REPLIES 4
v-yingjl
Community Support
Community Support

Hi @aminaKh ,

I think this is judicious and we recomend to create star scema model in power bi desktop.

Do not bring everything into one large table with hundreds of columns:

1. Maintenance of such a big table would be always a challenge. Every time you bring a new set of fields, you have to combine them into this table.
  2. The level of details stored in this table is dependent on the fields in it. If you bring new fields, you need to store more details! This is also a maintenance problem.