Skip to main content
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Register now to learn Fabric in free live sessions led by the best Microsoft experts. From Apr 16 to May 9, in English and Spanish.

BIWhiz
Frequent Visitor

Using the dates from date slicer in queries to filter data for visualization

Hi All,

I am a newbie to Power BI, I need some help trying to build a map dashboard with date slicer. I need to be able to utilise the start and end dates selected in the date slicer and use them as parameters to filter the data from my queries or somehow apply those filters in Power BI.

eg. I have a HR database with Hire Date and Termination Date and I am creating a visualization based on the number of employees active in the period selected by user and analyze their leaves, pay , overtime  in the period selected from a database.

I need to be able to fetch the records where Hire Date <= End date selected in the date slicer  and Termination date is either NULL or >= start date selected in date slicer. I am utilizing a date dimension table for the slicer and have created measures start date as MIN date and end date as MAX date from slicer.

Any ideas?

10 REPLIES 10
jsbi81

Hi,

Did you find a solution. I'm trying to show the active current asat date. In SQL and Tableau I'm able to achieve using the below where [Date] is my Parameter

[Start Date] <= [Date] AND IFNULL([End Date],[Date]) >= [Date]

Thanks

Jag

electrobrit
Post Patron
Post Patron

@BIWhiz

Were you able to solve this? I am having same issue. 

I need to know based on the date selected by the user the active stores. They have termination dates and anticipated active dates so being able to see how many are active as of a date is important.

Hi,