Skip to main content
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Earn the coveted Fabric Analytics Engineer certification. 100% off your exam for a limited time only!

pjn
Frequent Visitor

Using stacked bar chart as a slicer - but highlight entire bar when clicked

I'm fairly new to Power BI and have a question regarding the Stacked Bar Chart.

Configuration is as follows:

Axis = Employee Name

Legend = Billable / Non-Billable

Value = Hours

As expected this shows 1 bar per employee, each with 2 segments to indicate the billable and non-billable portions.

My client effectively wants to use the stacked bar chart as a slicer at the Axis (Employee) level rather than the Legend (Billable/Non-Billable) level.

i.e. When I click on an individual segment for an employee, the default behaviour in Power BI is to filter to that employee and segment. Is it possible to configure the stacked bar chart so it visually highlights the entire bar (and subsequently filters to employee only)?

I noticed that one of the online sample dashboards does this but I can't see any option in the chart settings to replicate what he's done. See the 'Engineers Billable Hours' page on this dashboard as an example: http://community.powerbi.com/t5/Data-Stories-Gallery/Business-Sales-Report-PowerBI/m-p/60491

Thanks

Pete

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

Hi @pjn,

Based on my test, currently stacked bar chart not support multiple select feature.

For you requirement, you can post this to ideas.

In addition, I find a same request for 100% stacked bar chart. Smiley Happy

Multiple selection by Legend in 100% Stacked chart

Regards,

Xiaoxin Sheng

Community Support Team _ Xiaoxin
If this post helps, please consider accept as solution to help other members find it more quickly.

View solution in original post

4 REPLIES 4
v-shex-msft
Community Support
Community Support

Hi @pjn,

According to your description, you want to the effect like below?

Capture.PNG