Skip to main content
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Earn the coveted Fabric Analytics Engineer certification. 100% off your exam for a limited time only!

Nepal101
Helper III
Helper III

Using one column value and filter another query

Hello everyone, 

I am pretty new to power query so need to ask if this is possible. 
The senario is I have a store proc that return 6 columns one of the column has ClientID base the the client ID that got poplulated from server A I need to use those list as the filter for another query that is coming from server B. is there a way to use Query result that is coming from A will be used to filter the query that is coming from B. 
example 
server A query 

client IDmissing data Name 

server B

client ID employee code score

I could load the data in power bi and create the relationship but it seems the query for server B has I million record that where as the server A has only those value that has missing value so it will always be less. 
I need to filter out the client ID that is coming from the server A query use that in server B query so I can get the code and score. 
Please advise. 

2 REPLIES 2
Nepal101
Helper III
Helper III

Thank you for the reply. 
I am not able to load the data that is coming from server B as it is huge. so whatever result I could get from the query in server A needs I need to use the Client ID as the filter for the query in server B. Can I do that?

marcelsmaglhaes
Super User
Super User

Hey @Nepal101 !

I don't know if I understand, but, you can merge the two queries in one. Load the 2 queries on Power Query and then merge then in new one choosing the best join option for your scenario. Read more about merge queries here:
Merge queries overview - Power Query | Microsoft Learn

PS.: Another way to get the desired result is merge directly in SQL if you have access to write it. 

Best Regards,
Marcel

Regards,
Marcel Magalhães
Microsoft Power BI Official Partner