Skip to main content
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Register now to learn Fabric in free live sessions led by the best Microsoft experts. From Apr 16 to May 9, in English and Spanish.

jbrijalba
Helper I
Helper I

Using an IF statement comparing two date fields in two different tables

I have a master table (will call it Table1) that has a date range, there are also 22 people in the table (meaning a certain date can show up 22 times, while some dates never show up). I have a second table (will call it date table) that is just every single day in that same range. I created a relationship based on the date field, one (date table) to many (table1). I am trying to compare the two tables to see if someone in table1 does not have a value for a date in the date table.

I have tried Matched = If('date table'[Date] = related('table1'[date]), "Y", "N"). I get some message saying that there is no connection.  Now if I switch the two tables around and have table1 first then it works but it does not give me what I need.

I saw something about relatedtable and other quires while searching but nothing. 

Any help will be appreciated.

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION
jbrijalba
Helper I
Helper I

Just wanted to let everyone know that I figured it out, not with DAX however. I copied the master table, pasted it to a new Excel file, deleted everything but the date, name and location field. Made the date field to contain all the dates in the range for each person (so 365 days for all 22 people, 365 * 22) . I then in Power Bi created a key column in each table. Key = Concatenate([Name], Concatenate(" - ", [Date]). I created the relationship based on the Key column in each table. From there I was able to get a one to one relationship and use the Related() funtion comparing the Date table to the able with the Peoples work days. 

Thank you everyone for your help. 🙂

View solution in original post

7 REPLIES 7
jbrijalba
Helper I
Helper I