Skip to main content
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Register now to learn Fabric in free live sessions led by the best Microsoft experts. From Apr 16 to May 9, in English and Spanish.

AndySawyer
Regular Visitor

Using a portion of a slicer

Hi,

I really hope someone can help me with this, as I'm new to DAX queries and I've been searching for the answer for hours with no results.

I have a slicer with a Month-Year picker, based off a Date table. I want to create a measure that will have the YTD for the current year selected, and also the prior comparable year, which can be displayed on a Stacked Column Chart in Power BI, with a separated column used in the Legend.

I have the following formula that work:

Total Revenue LYTD =
TOTALYTD(
SUM('Data'[Total Revenue]),
DATEADD('Date Start'[Date],-1,YEAR), "30/06"
)

Total Revenue CYTD =
TOTALYTD(
'Date Start'[Date], "30/06"
)

But if I pull them both onto the chart, I can't use a third identifier (in this case a dimension named 'Market Segment') to color code the chart.

I'm figuring that I need to create a calculated measure that performs a YTD calculation for the Month portion of my slicer, ignoring the Year portion, so if the slicer has 'September 2017' selected, I could drag said measure onto the Value section of the chart, add the Market Segment dimension to the Legend and add the 'Date Start'[Financial Year] dimension to the Axis.

But I don't know how to do that! Help...

Regards,

Andy

3 REPLIES 3
v-chuncz-msft
Community Support
Community Support

@AndySawyer,

Just add an appropriate measure and take advantage of Visual level filters.

http://community.powerbi.com/t5/Desktop/Relational-Date-Filter-By-Other-Date-How-To/td-p/298373

Community Support Team _ Sam Zha
If this post helps, then please consider Accept it as the solution to help the other members find it more quickly.

Thank you Sam,