cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Highlighted
knotpc Regular Visitor
Regular Visitor

Using a measure to calculate DAYS between TWO DATES in TWO Tables Direct Query Mode.

Hello, 

I am trying to measure OnTimeDelivery using PowerBI in Direct Query Mode connected to Syspro. The date fields are in multiple tables with a One to Many relationships linked to SalesOrder. Below are the basics of the tables fields. 

SorMaster[SalesOrder]

SorMaster[OrderDate]

ArSalesMove[SalesOrder]

ArSalesMove[ShipDate]

The measure code looks like this. 

Days-Ship = DATEDIFF(SorMaster[OrderDate],ArSalesMove[TrnDate],DAY) 

The error is this. 

Capture.PNG

My PowerBi combined table looks like this. 

PowerBiTable.PNG

Any ideas on what I am doing wrong? I am new to this. 

Clint

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

Accepted Solutions
Anonymous
Not applicable

Re: Using a measure to calculate DAYS between TWO DATES in TWO Tables Direct Query Mode.

Hey @knotpc

you need to provide a single value for the OrderDate or else the measure is not going to know which instance of the OrderDate to use. To get a round this, you can specify FIRSTDATE(SorMaster[OrderDate]) or maybe LASTDATE(SorMaster[OrderDate]). This will filter the OrderDate down to a single value that the measure can digest.

Hope this helps,

Parker

View solution in original post

2 REPLIES 2
Anonymous
Not applicable

Re: Using a measure to calculate DAYS between TWO DATES in TWO Tables Direct Query Mode.

Hey @knotpc

you need to provide a single value for the OrderDate or else the measure is not going to know which instance of the OrderDate to use. To get a round this, you can specify FIRSTDATE(SorMaster[OrderDate]) or maybe LASTDATE(SorMaster[OrderDate]). This will filter the OrderDate down to a single value that the measure can digest.

Hope this helps,

Parker

View solution in original post

knotpc Regular Visitor
Regular Visitor

Parker,