Skip to main content
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Register now to learn Fabric in free live sessions led by the best Microsoft experts. From Apr 16 to May 9, in English and Spanish.

BicycleBox
Frequent Visitor

Using Slicers with Measures to select 'best' option and create summations of related data

Hi all,

I'm relatively new to Power BI and have been making pretty steady strides, but have hit a bit of a wall with some DAX I have been trying to piece together, Measures are still quite opaque to me.  I'd really appreciate it if someone could help me out and perhaps explain the resulting DAX (assuming what I am after is achieveable! 🙂 ).

To outline the scenario (using my simplified data):

I have Servers in a variety of Cities.
I have Countries which have Pings to each of these Cities.
I have Users in a Country.

I would like to be able to create a visualisation where I can en/disable Servers, and then discover two pieces of information:

# How many Users are served by the active Servers (assuming a User uses the active Server with the best (i.e. lowest) Ping for them, being careful not to count someone twice if they can reach more than one Server with the same ping).
# In a table of Users, show which Server City and the Ping they would be getting based on their best available active Server.
 - As a desirable but not necessary extra I would be interested in seeing what a query might look like if we were to also try and see what their 'fallback' Server would be if their 'best' Server was not available.

As an additional Slicer I've been looking at introducing a 'MinimumViablePing' which will also remove a Server-Country entry if their Ping is not good enough.  I have some parts of this working but the above queries have hit my limit, I'll include CSVs for source data and my sample tables with DAX Measures so far below.

Source data:

Servers table:

ServerCity
Cardiff
Edinburgh
London

UserCountries table:

Country
England