Skip to main content
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Register now to learn Fabric in free live sessions led by the best Microsoft experts. From Apr 16 to May 9, in English and Spanish.

AntWickenden
Frequent Visitor

Using Slicers to filter visualisations with data from multiple fields

Hi there...

I am pretty new to PowerBi but am finding it very useful, however I have a problem, which is probably a simple fix, but despite much searching I am unable to find the solution for.

I have a dashboard with a number of visualisations...

Line Chart x 1

Matrix x 1

Slicers x 4

Card x 1

Which are fed by 3 data fields

Branch Rev Data

Import Data

Revenue GCI List

The Line Chart, Matrix & Slicers are fed by the "Branch Rev Data" field

The Card is fed by the "Import Data" field.

2 of the slicers are "Month" & "Year"

When I filter using the "Month" & "Year" slicers, I cannot get both slicers to impact what is displayed by the Card.

By adjusting the relationship between the "Branch Rev Data" and the "Import Data" fields I am able to have either the "Month" or "Year" work individually, but I can not have both "Month" and "Year" work together.

The Card needs to pull through a count of "Import File Reference" from the "Import Data" field but I want this to change depending on use of the Month & Year slicers.

I hope I have explained this OK.

Thanks in advance

Anthony

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION
Anonymous
Not applicable

Hi,

can the same GCI Number be present for different years?

By design, in your model, when you filter on year and month, you filter the GCI Number in the table Branch Rev Data and then you filter the GCI List by CGI Number and with this list you filter data in the Import Data where it calculate the measure Count of Import files. This measure depends by the list of the GCI Number filtered in GCI List, not directly by Year and month in Branch Rev Data.