Skip to main content
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Register now to learn Fabric in free live sessions led by the best Microsoft experts. From Apr 16 to May 9, in English and Spanish.

MarshP

Using Perviousday to compare values between days excluding weekends

I'm new to power BI and am trying to understand some of the functions.

I want a report that shows the difference in values beween 2 dates but exclude weekends

I have multiple items in multiple categories displaying on a day and want to know if the category was not in the report yestarday but is today (In=1) or is no longer in the report today (Out =-1) or is not in the report on either day Null or 0 over a period of time (last 2 weeks)

I only want to show the data when there has been an increase or decrease in the category

The way I have approached it so far:

Count Category = DISTINCTCOUNT(T_Data[Category])

Count Category Previous Day = CALCULATE(DISTINCTCOUNT(T_Data[Category),PREVIOUSDAY(T_Data[Reporting_Date]))

Change in Category = IF(ISBLANK([Count Category]),0,[Count Category])-IF(ISBLANK([Count Category Previous Day]),0,[Count Category Previous Day])

I would then filter out where "Change in Category" = Null Values or 0 Values

This works well except on Monday there are no values from the previous day so everything shows up.

Ideally I want a crosstable with Category down the side and date across the top with -1,1 or 0 for each category value against a date:

MonTueWedThuFriMonTueWedThuFri
 3-Sep-184-Sep-185-Sep-186-Sep-187-Sep-1810-Sep-1811-Sep-1812-Sep-1813-Sep-1814-Sep-18
Item11 -1   1  -1
Item2 1   -1  1 
Item3-1  1  -1   
Item4          
Item5   -1      
Item6     1    

Total01-1000001-1

Eventually I'd like to turn the table into visuals 1= Green Check; -1 = Red cross, 0 = gray circle

Any advice would be appreciated

P

3 REPLIES 3
v-danhe-msft
Employee
Employee

Hi @MarshP,