Skip to main content
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Earn the coveted Fabric Analytics Engineer certification. 100% off your exam for a limited time only!

Anonymous
Not applicable

Using Measures and Calculated Columns Together

I am looking to calculate a total potential exposure by going through a series of calculations, and I keep running into 3 pain points. Every column up to "Days Remaining 2" does not use any calculations. The only column (calculated) from a different table is "Sales Rate". I am pretty new to using Power BI, so I apologize in advance if my notes below are not easy to follow. Happy to help clarify wherever I can. 

Problem 1 (A) - "Days Remaining 2" column should be calculated by taking "Item Shelf" multiplied by SELECTEDVALUE(ShelfRemaining) - this yields an error. When I replace the "SELECTEDVALUE(ShelfRemaining)" with an arbitrary number such as 0.5 as shown in the image, it calculates correctly but I really would like this do be changeable based on user-selected shelf life % remaining. This is currently a calculated column. 

Problem 2 (B) - "Sales Rate" is calculating correctly as is. It is adding up total sales volumns between the two dates in the slicer above specific to that row's distribution center, item ID, and vendor. My concern is that because it is a measure rather than a calculated column, when I get to the point of adding up "Total Exposure 2" and graphing these in the three visuals above by their respective axis (e.g. vendor, distribution center, etc.), it will calculate based on total sales for that vendor, rather than filtering by vendor, distribution center, and item ID first, then calculating total exposure for each line item, then taking a sum of total exposure.