Skip to main content
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Register now to learn Fabric in free live sessions led by the best Microsoft experts. From Apr 16 to May 9, in English and Spanish.

I_Like_Pi
Resolver II
Resolver II

Using DAX RANKX to rank Aggregated totals (Newb)

I hope I've found the right forum, if this is the wrong place for this and you know of a place to go for such please reply with that. I'm a total newb to this and cant find any decent forums for DAX/POWER BI.

I am trying to rank the results of a pivot in power BI.

I was attempting to follow the wise owl's youtube tutorial. And while I have discovered the sublet difference I cannot figure out how to resolve it. Any help would be appreciated.

I have a single table that I have pivoted to sum the C_Gross of every C_Address. The source is a single table where C_Address is found multiple times, hence the sum.

I would like to rank the sums of C_Gross grouped by C_Address, I have the following measures:

RankGross = RANKX(ALL('Hours_Sum'),'Hours_Sum'[TotalGross])

TotalGross = SUM([C_Gross])

When I use the RankGross measure in the pivot, the rank calculated compares the totaled amount to what would be the ranking if these totals were in the orginal population.

After banging my head for days I realized that in wise Owls tutorial he was able to leverage a relationship in a rationalized DB to get the groupings. Where I have gone All('Hours_Sum') i need the subset of all distint values of C_Address. As I dont have the benefit of a joined table with the subset I am persueing a calulated table.

I first tried,

RANKX(VALUES('Hours'[C_Address]),'Hours_Sum'[TotalGross])

- this ends up returning 1's accross the board as it compares to itself.

RANKX(ALL(VALUES('Hours'[C_Address])),'Hours_Sum'[TotalGross])

- ALL apparent doesn't like the insertion of the VALUES function, I wasn't expecting that.

I'm still lost. (I last felt this in the presences of REGEX)

6 REPLIES 6
I_Like_Pi