Skip to main content
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Register now to learn Fabric in free live sessions led by the best Microsoft experts. From Apr 16 to May 9, in English and Spanish.

stuf1968
Frequent Visitor

User table instead of multiple IF for cohort second table.

First, as with many others here - I'm relatively new to PBI and DAX, and my books haven't arrived from Indigo/Chapters yet.  Smiley Happy

I have created a data table (tAgeCohort) for min/max of age range for age cohort

ID   MinAge    MaxAge   AgeRange

1      20             29              20-29

2      30             39              30-39

5      70            79               70-79

6      80            125               80+

I have another table that contains member information  z_TTL_Mbr  (contains 150k rows)

MemberID         Age

10000                 28

12434                 65

88833                 48

Instead of using a calculated column with multiple IF statements. I'd like to know how to build a Measure or DAX to look up the z_TTL_Mbr[Age] and assign the appropriate AgeRange from tAgeCohort.

Thank you for your assistance in this 'newbie' question.

Smiley Very Happy

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

Hi @stuf1968,

You need to have a consecutive age number in your tAgeCohort, and set age range for this age. Then you can get age range in z_TTL_Mbr table by using age value.

Create a table with a column ID have values from 1 to 125. Then create three calculated columns.
AgeRange = if(and(tAgeCohort[ID]<=29,tAgeCohort[ID]>=20),"20-29",if(and(tAgeCohort[ID]<=39,tAgeCohort[ID]>=30),"30-39",if(and(tAgeCohort[ID]<=49,tAgeCohort[ID]>=40),"40-49",if(and(tAgeCohort[ID]<=59,tAgeCohort[ID]>=50),"50-59",if(and(tAgeCohort[ID]<=69,tAgeCohort[ID]>=60),"60-69",if(and(tAgeCohort[ID]<=79,tAgeCohort[ID]>=70),"70-79",if(tAgeCohort[ID]>=80,"80+","UNK")))))))
Min = CALCULATE(MIN(tAgeCohort[ID]),ALLEXCEPT(tAgeCohort,tAgeCohort[AgeRange]))