cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
imani_tech
Frequent Visitor

User = Delegate

I have a table with two columns:  User and Delegate.  Each column contains ID-type values.  I'm trying to figure which Users are also Delegates.  Here is how I would do it in SQL:

SELECT DISTINCT

u.[User],
  d.Delegate 
FROM [Sheet1$] u
  INNER JOIN [Sheet1$] d
   ON u.[User] = d.Delegate

I'm new to Power BI and DAX, so I have no idea how to accomplish this goal using those tools.  All I know is Power BI/DAX does not support self joins.  

What approach should I take?  

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION
v-ljerr-msft
Microsoft
Microsoft

Hi @imani_tech,

If I understand you correctly, you should also be able to use DAX to create a calculate column in your 'Sheet1$' table to indicate if the User/Delegate are both User and Delegate. Then you can use the new created calculate column as Slicers or Visual/Page/Report level filters on your report. The formula below is for your reference. Smiley Happy

IsDelegateUser = 
IF (
    NOT (
        ISBLANK (
            LOOKUPVALUE ( 'Sheet1$'[Delegate], 'Sheet1$'[Delegate], 'Sheet1$'[User] )
        )
    )
        || NOT (
            ISBLANK (
                LOOKUPVALUE ( 'Sheet1$'[User], 'Sheet1$'[User], 'Sheet1$'[Delegate] )
            )
        ),
)

c1.PNGr1.PNG

Regards

View solution in original post

3 REPLIES 3
v-ljerr-msft
Microsoft
Microsoft

Hi @imani_tech,

If I understand you correctly, you should also be able to use DAX to create a calculate column in your 'Sheet1$' table to indicate if the User/Delegate are both User and Delegate. Then you can use the new created calculate column as Slicers or Visual/Page/Report level filters on your report. The formula below is for your reference. Smiley Happy

IsDelegateUser = 
IF (
    NOT (
        ISBLANK (
            LOOKUPVALUE ( 'Sheet1$'[Delegate], 'Sheet1$'[Delegate], 'Sheet1$'[User] )
        )
    )
        || NOT (
            ISBLANK (