Skip to main content
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Register now to learn Fabric in free live sessions led by the best Microsoft experts. From Apr 16 to May 9, in English and Spanish.

Anonymous
Not applicable

Use Switch true to replace a blank value in a matrix table by a calculation

Hi all,

I am completely new to Power BI, I have been trying to use a Switch True to replace blank value into a Matrix table, but I can't get it to work if I use a calculation of other fields, if I type the amounts on the code it works fine,

But I am trying to get it to calculate a margin= Sales-COGS and input this into a row.

Measure = var CurrItem=SELECTEDVALUE(Sheet1[Type])

Return
SWITCH(TRUE(),
CurrItem="Total Sales",[Total Sales],
CurrItem="Total COGS",[Total COGS],
CALCULATE(sum(Sheet1[Amount]),filter(Sheet1, Sheet1[O&P]=CurrItem)))

Any help will be really appreciated,

Thanks

Alban

4 REPLIES 4
v-shex-msft
Community Support
Community Support

Hi @Anonymous,

According to your description, I think you need to check your records to confirm if these blank parts really exist in your table. 

If all records exist in your table, you can simply replace them based on measure formula and if statement.

If some of the records didn't exist in your table and they only work as the placeholder that generated by matrix column, row categories analysis layout. I think You need to extract the category fields which not have all matched records to new tables, then you can use two table fields as matrix column/row fields.

After these steps, you can write a measure formula to lookup value based on the current category data label and set a default result with not matched records and use on the matrix value field.

Regards,

Xiaoxin Sheng

Community Support Team _ Xiaoxin
If this post helps, please consider accept as solution to help other members find it more quickly.
amitchandak
Super User
Super User

Anonymous
Not applicable