Skip to main content
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Register now to learn Fabric in free live sessions led by the best Microsoft experts. From Apr 16 to May 9, in English and Spanish.

taylorrc
Regular Visitor

Use Measure as Axis in visual

I am trying to create a visual similar to this:

2-28-2017 2-48-38 PM.png

but I need to include some values that are sumations of some of the columns. For example, a total column that is a sum of all the values. Another is a value called "Accpeted" that is a sum of Imlplemented, Assigned to Team, Ready for Implementation, and Being Piloted. 

I've created measures to generate all these numbers for me, but I cannot get the visualization to allow me to use the measure name for the axis label. Is there a way to do that, maybe through a calulated table? I'm new to Power BI and visual analytics in general. Thanks in advance for any help. 

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

I solved the issue. I created a new table with the axis lables in the first column, then used If statements to look at the value in the first column. If it was one of the subtotals, it returned the measure I created. If it was an actual status, I used:

CALCULATE(counta('Idea Factory One Utility'[Status Of Idea]),
FILTER(all('Idea Factory One Utility'), 'Idea Factory One Utility'[Status Of Idea]=Idea_Status[Status Type]))

View solution in original post

6 REPLIES 6
samdthompson
Memorable Member
Memorable Member

Hi, I assume that you have a whole table of data that has all the projects on it with some sort of mixture of flags that in an order give you whatever the status is. What you will want to do is make a calculated column  (on the modelling tab) and make a column that has all the logic in it to create each of teh the statuses you want on your axis. This is just an IF() statement or if you want a SWTICH(). SO you will have something like: