Skip to main content
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Register now to learn Fabric in free live sessions led by the best Microsoft experts. From Apr 16 to May 9, in English and Spanish.

aggiebrown
Helper III
Helper III

Use DAX to Create a Table within a Measure instead of creating external tables that aren't optimal

Hello everyone, I am fairly new to DAX but working on a large dataset and therefore keen to resolve issues within DAX Measures rather than creating supporting tables. 

I need to calculate nested by period cancellations of certain plan and divide that number by total sales of that said plan. 

I have created a supporting model which looks at my two data tables (Total Sales & Details of Success Plan) and connected the lookup tables I will need to drill down to Individual levels, so Employee_Lookup, Date_Lookup and Calendar_Table.

Worth saying that Both Data tables already have DateKeys in them that contain Emp_Num&&DateKey so the matching should be fairly simple.

I am stuck when it comes to DAX Language itself though, I am thinking, is there a way of creating a table within a DAX Measure that will group the results by Agent ID and by Differnt Buckets and Return a Value of that. I would be happy to have 4 different measures for 4 different buckets I need. But so far I can't even seem to be getting there, as every DAX formula I type is expecting a table reference.... 

I have created a measure to bucket the cancellations as a start, using VAR Function which goes like this to see what my cancellation duration buckets are:

Cancellation buckets =
VAR Cancellations = [#  Cancellations duration]
RETURN
SWITCH (
TRUE (),
ISBLANK([#Cancellations duration]), BLANK(),
Cancellations <= 30, "Cancelled <30 Days",
Cancellations <- 60, "Cancelled 31-60 Days",
Cancellations <= 90, "Cancelled 61-90 Days",
Cancellations > 90, "Cancelled 90+"
)

Now what I want to do, is to divide each of these buckets per Total Sales per agent.