Skip to main content
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Register now to learn Fabric in free live sessions led by the best Microsoft experts. From Apr 16 to May 9, in English and Spanish.

ianhan13
Helper III
Helper III

Uploading the latest version of 6 excel files within a single directory

Hi

I am new to Power BI Desktop and know just enought to be dangerous 🙂

I am trying to combine data from 6 separate excel spreadsheets which contain fund performance. 

A new file for each portfolio is created every evening, named with the file name of the portfolio.

I would like to pull the latest version of all 6 files into a Table so I can combine and extract data across the group. 

I have managed a File data upload to get all files in the directory into a Table, but if I filter on  latest file I will of course just get one file. I need to filter for the latest version of all 6 files.

Any help would be very much appreciated 

Ian

2 ACCEPTED SOLUTIONS
mahoneypat
Employee
Employee

In your screenshot, you want the All Rows option under Operation.  I mocked up your scenario (w/o actual files, just filename) to demonstrate.  To see how it works, just create a blank query, go to Advanced Editor, and replace the text there with the M code below.

let
    Source = Table.FromRows(Json.Document(Binary.Decompress(Binary.FromText("i45WcsvMSTVU0lEy1DfRNzIwMlSK1YEIGoEFjbEJGqEKQrSbogoaY1NpjGJRLAA=", BinaryEncoding.Base64), Compression.Deflate)), let _t = ((type nullable text) meta [Serialized.Text = true]) in type table [Filename = _t, Date = _t]),
    #"Changed Type" = Table.TransformColumnTypes(Source,{{"Filename", type text}, {"Date", type date}}),
    #"Sorted Rows" = Table.Sort(#"Changed Type",{{"Date", Order.Descending}}),
    #"Grouped Rows" = Table.Group(#"Sorted Rows", {"Filename"}, {{"AllRows", each _, type table [Filename=nullable text, Date=nullable date]}}),