Skip to main content
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Register now to learn Fabric in free live sessions led by the best Microsoft experts. From Apr 16 to May 9, in English and Spanish.

giulia_iem
Frequent Visitor

Update ODBC query

Hi everyone,

I created an ODBC connection to an on-premise (PostgreSQL) database. From Power BI desktop I created a new dataset importing data from ODBC specifying an aggregation query (it would have been impossible to load the entire tables because it contains millions of rows), I built my report and published it. Then I made some improvements to my report adding a whole set of charts and I was quite happy of the result.

Now I would like to make some changes to the aggregation query I made to build my dataset (i.e. add a column). Is it possible to refresh published dataset keeping my online report working?

I'm new to Power BI and I'm still trying to understand what I can do and what I can't do..

Thank you so much

Giulia

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION
Anonymous
Not applicable

Hello Giulia,

If you've made change in the report published in PowerBI Services and don't want to loose it when you will published the updated dataset Linked to this report, I think that the only solution is to make a copy of the original report in PowerBI Services. You work on the copied report (fortunately you can change his name). So when you will published the updated dataset, only the original report will be overwritten and not the copy.

Sebastien 

View solution in original post

5 REPLIES 5
Anonymous
Not applicable

Hello @giulia_iem

If you want to change the dataset structure, you have to do it from PowerBI desktop, you cannot do it from PowerBI Services (the published report).

As long as you didn't published the new report the first one is still available with the older structure.