Skip to main content
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Earn the coveted Fabric Analytics Engineer certification. 100% off your exam for a limited time only!

rayhannon
Frequent Visitor

Unstack Column

Hi all,

I'm new to this forum. I have just commeced a new career as a Business Analyst and I am learning how to use Power BI. I have limited previous experience with Power Queries.

I have an issue where I want to unstack data from a column and put the data into a table. I have looked at numerous youtube videos on power queries to unstack data using an index colum. My issue is that the number of data points in my stacked data is uneven, so the index option does not work for me.  i.e my first block of data in Column A contains 20 data points, my second block of data contains 15 data points. Each block of data is seperated by a blank row if this is beneficial. 

Is there a solution for unstacking the data in Column A to create a table using Power Query?

Any help is much appreciated.

Thanks in advance. 

2 ACCEPTED SOLUTIONS

Hi @rayhannon ,

Maybe you can try the following steps and the related codes in advanced editor in power query editor and I'll help you to understand:

let
    Source = Table.FromRows(Json.Document(Binary.Decompress(Binary.FromText("pVLLbsIwEPyVVc4E/IgT4GaCG1zyoIlpC4hD2iJRCbVS2h74+yZOnCgCpEo9emd21jO7u51FKXKsgWXtBztLHX+Kr7f8DAyivHg9AkEEGRDTqUOmxDPvZV4cPr6Xh9PpbEp+EiZpxJW/kHGATfX+8wUIowhkAAsOcxu1GpmIJERcKsCuTYgpXxJV8Z6frghgTOAuhJivuFokIaRiXkJoiKiLNIFovCxD8iznAjajTBMwYw3BqwgPaxnHbTdGqAap7l6J0lQsYgVJyuNA1BMMx0GdQMSDksabKWTIWpIWkmnAt7Kb02mMK3gjwjB5gtAm2EE1wTWEibGRKttjk7qfmH6m/zAbZe0P+vo6XWjSVqoE3c7kbQO4UzCBU8/5+7mwKR3//1xIq+H7sjfjkqHvhF5pLd1WLoNUiLgKqp8fpRXo83Qmt+UVPcokFKofwO2UnKHT7kHrrLNmlc0p4ltLKOWdqnP/Cw==", BinaryEncoding.Base64), Compression.Deflate)), let _t = ((type text) meta [Serialized.Text = true]) in type table [Column1 = _t, Column2 = _t]),