Skip to main content
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Register now to learn Fabric in free live sessions led by the best Microsoft experts. From Apr 16 to May 9, in English and Spanish.

Winwin
Frequent Visitor

Unbelivable low performance

Hi,

I am a total newbie to Power Bi and it is my project to be done in Power Bi. I was asked in my work to move our reporting tool from Excel to Power Bi. The input consists of 8 spreadsheets with 2.4k rows and 15 columns each. Those are financial data so e.g. the exposure at loan, borrower or division level. I have not faced any problems with upload of a file to Power Bi. I have done 12 visuals and created 6 measures (e.g. average LTV weighted with exposure or average duration weighted with exposure). All measures are based only on SUM formula. And then it has become nearly impossible to work on this tool anymore. It takes 30 minutes to create new chart, when 3 minutes I spend on working and next 27 minutes to wit until Power Bi responds. 

I checked tutorials in the internet. So every ID is a number. All not necessary columns have been removed. Most of the columns have only numbers. Only a few of them have text values. As I said earlier, all calculations are based on SUM formula (small calculations (e.g. Product) are done in the excel and uploaded in the input files.

I have no idea what's going on with this file. Excel deals with this input in 1 second but here it takes ~ 20 minutes to do anything.

I would appreciate any help or advice. 

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

It sounds like it has something to do with the Locale settings. Take a look at

Options -> Data Load (Under Current File) -> Q&A

See if that is checked if so uncheck it.

Q&A.png

Did my answer(s) help you? Give it a kudos by clicking the Thumbs Up!
Did my post answer your question(s)? Mark my post as a solution. This will help others find the solution.

Proud to be a Super User!

View solution in original post

3 REPLIES 3
v-xicai