Skip to main content
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Register now to learn Fabric in free live sessions led by the best Microsoft experts. From Apr 16 to May 9, in English and Spanish.

JohnBSL
Frequent Visitor

Unable to filter by gender in my chart

I'm fairly new to PBI so hopefully it is an easy fix. Essentially, I have two tables, one of which is a calculated table based on the first one and I'm trying to use one of the fields in the first table to filter the data in the second table.

So my [Data] table is set up like so....

ClientIDLast Date of MonthGender
00130/6/2021M
00231/7/2021F
00330/9/2020F

And my calculated table [Start Date Table] is set up like so (I've included the formulas I've used for reference)....

Last Date of MonthTotal enrolments in month
= SUMMARIZE(Data,Data[Last Date of Month])
= CALCULATE(COUNT((Data[ClientID])))
30/6/20218
31/7/202110

In terms of table relationships, I have created a *:1 bi-directional relationship between the Last Date of Month columns in each table (with the Data table being the many side of the relationship).

On the visualisation side of things, I'm creating a basic bar chart with Data[Last Date of Month] as the axis and the Start Date Table[Total enrolments in month] as the values. So far so good.

However, I then want to create a page filter with Data[Gender] and the chart doesn't respond.

Any ideas would be really appreciated.

4 REPLIES 4
v-xiaoyan-msft
Community Support
Community Support

Hi @JohnBSL ,

If you just want to filter your Data Table with just Data[Gender], there is a simpler way to do it.
First you can discard your second calculation table, and you can do it in Power BI Desktop using only Data Table.

You can do as the following steps:

1.Select the cluster column chart on Power BI Desktop and drag the "Client" column to the Value bar and the "Last Date of Month" column to the Axis bar.
2.drag "Gendar" to Filters on this visual.