Skip to main content
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Register now to learn Fabric in free live sessions led by the best Microsoft experts. From Apr 16 to May 9, in English and Spanish.

Borja204
Helper II
Helper II

Unable to establish relationships to filter dimensions

Hi all,

First of all thanks for your help. I am not an expert in power bi and I am struggling a problem that I am unable to solve.

The main issue is that I do have many relations inactive due to ambiguity. After reading trhough the forums and googling it, it seems that this is called slowly changing dimensions (I am not completely sure that this is my case...)

This is the model (indeed its only a part of the model but the one with the problem):

2020-11-23_11-19-15.jpg

ReportsData is the fact table. ReportCenters, ReportsCountries, ReportsProjects etc are the dimension tables. The main issue is that those dimensions change every month. So, in each one of those dimensions tables, I have a LoadReference property that holds the year-month  reference to which it belongs.

For example, for the projects table, I may have

ProjectIdLoadReferenceName
1202009Project1
1202010Project1Modified
2202010Project2
2 202009Project2

I'd need to be able to filter the dimensions at report level (or something like this), because the user must be able to select the year-month of the dimensions. So, if the consumer of the report selects 202010, in the project dimensions table it should appear Project1Modified  and Project2.  This two names is what it should appear later inthe slicers for future filtering.

If someone could give me some starting point or help to accomplish I will be eternally grateful.

Thanks and regards,

2 ACCEPTED SOLUTIONS

@Borja204 , You can not get all active. You have to change the design. Or make all of them inactive and activate then using userealtion in a measure

View solution in original post

@Borja204 

Thank you for the same file.