Skip to main content
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Register now to learn Fabric in free live sessions led by the best Microsoft experts. From Apr 16 to May 9, in English and Spanish.

walkersw

Unable to Limit Application of What If Parameter at Summary/Year Level

Hello,

I'm new to Power BI and working to leverage a What If Parameter(0-100%) to apply a factor to a subset of my Forecast data.  The DAX for my measure is as follows:

Adjusted Forecast = IF (MAX('Financials_8_31_22'[OpportunityName]) = "Opportunity One", SUM('Financials_8_31_22'[Forecast]) * '2022 Multiplier Value'[2022 Revenue Multiplier],   SUM('Financials_8_31_22'[Forecast]))

I only want to apply my What If parameter percentage(2022 Revenue Multiplier, 50%) to Opportunity One.  This seems to work when I add Opportunity Name to my table as a column; however, when I remove Opportunity name, the What If Parameter is applied to Opportunity One and Opportunity Two.  Can you tell me what I'm missing to have the logic applied as desired at the aggregate/year-level.  Thank you. 
What If Parameter set at 50% (Opp Name Added to Columns)
What if applied to Opportunity One Only
YearForecastAdjusted ForecastOpportunityName
2022$363,447$363,447Opportunity Two
2022$13,560,915.72$6,780,457.86Opportunity One
2023$491,741$491,741Opportunity Two
2023$24,821,919.65$12,410,959.83Opportunity One

What If Parameter set at 50% (Opp Name Removed from Columns)
What if applied to Opportunity One and Two.
YearForecastAdjusted ForecastDesired Adjusted Forecast
2022$13,924,362.72$6,962,181.36$7,143,905.00
2023$25,313,660.65$12,656,830.33$12,902,701.00

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

Hi @v-yalanwu-msft,

Thanks for the reply.   I was able to work through this with the following approach.  This provides me the ability to apply the What If Parameter to selected Opportunities and combine the selected Opportunity cost with the non-selected cost at the year/aggregate level.   

Measure for Total Cost