Skip to main content
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Earn the coveted Fabric Analytics Engineer certification. 100% off your exam for a limited time only!

Twister8
Helper II
Helper II

USERNAME() function DAX

Hello everyone,

I'm new in Power BI and I have a doubt:

I would like use the Username() function DAX, to filter some datas in Dashboard, like RLS, for example:

User DOMAIN\Twister8 can see Country = China

another users can see all Countries

IF( Username() = "DOMAIN\Twister8", Country = "China", Country)

I wanna use the Username() function, because the anothers users doesnt has Pro License.

In my test using the RLS conditions like:

TEST - China [Country] = "China"

functionTest.png

When I share the Dashboard with anothers users, the message about requeried Pro License its showed.

So, my question is:

Its possible use alternative, Username() functions, to restrict access on Data for users without use Pro License.?

6 REPLIES 6
v-haibl-msft
Employee
Employee

@Twister8

I tried to use alternative as you said but have no success. I’ll try to explain my ideas as below though it is proved to be impossible.

I first create another table to store the users which need to be restricted access on Data.

USERNAME() function DAX_1.jpg

Then create a measure to get the countries which should be shown for this login user. If the user is Twinster8, then China will be returned. If the user is others, then “” will be returned.

CountryShow = 
VAR Country =
    LOOKUPVALUE ( Table2[Country], Table2[Name], USERNAME () )
RETURN
( IF ( ISBLANK ( Country ), "", Country ) )

At last, try to create a calculated table to show the data of specified countries. I though it should be OK now but a "not supported" warning message returned.

("CUSTOMDATA and USERNAME functions are not supported in calculated columns. These functions may only be used in Measures or in the AllowedRowsExpression.")

A related idea can be found here.

FilterTable =