Skip to main content
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Register now to learn Fabric in free live sessions led by the best Microsoft experts. From Apr 16 to May 9, in English and Spanish.

ctmullins
Frequent Visitor

USERELATIONSHIP() applied to entire report?

Hi guys!  Relative newbie here, been working with PBI for the last six months or so, previously coming from a Qlik background.

I have a problem that I'm stumped trying to resolve.  I've scoured the various forums and blogs looking for a possible answer, but haven't found anything yet.

I have a star-schema data model with a date table that has two possible relationships to my fact table.  One relationship is marked as active, and the other inactive.

I've learned how to use USERELATIONSHIP() in my measures to show aggregated scalar values correctly.  But my issue is that there doesn't appear to be any way to deploy USERELATIONSHIP() to globally apply to all visuals throughout the entire report.  Essentially, I want one toggle button/filter to trigger a global USERELATIONSHIP() at the data model level, with the entire report updating appropriately.

ctmullins_0-1650385239314.png

Right now my toggle is built as a filter, but I'm not married to that if there's a better way (button? slicer?).

ctmullins_1-1650385323300.png

And here's what my (correctly functioning) Measures look like:

Quantity A = CALCULATE(Sum('Revenue Fact'[TotalQuantityNBR]), USERELATIONSHIP('Revenue Fact'[ActivityDateNBR],'Calendar'[DateNBR]))

Quantity S = CALCULATE(Sum('Revenue Fact'[TotalQuantityNBR]), USERELATIONSHIP('Revenue Fact'[ServiceDateNBR],'Calendar'[DateNBR]))

Total Charge Quantity = SWITCH(SELECTEDVALUE('_Date Toggle'[Code])
, "A", [Quantity A], "S", [Quantity S])

But this approach does not work when showing the row-level detail in a Table visual (for instance).

I simply cannot figure out how to globally enable the alternate relationship when the user requests it.