Skip to main content
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Earn the coveted Fabric Analytics Engineer certification. 100% off your exam for a limited time only!

Anonymous
Not applicable

Two slicers for one column

Hi guys,

I am quite new to PowerBI. I would like to have two slicers with products of different categories, which filter one column of a connected table with all product information of both categories.

Is there a possibility to do that with connected tables? I have already found some approaches with disconnected tables and measures, but this inhibits the connection to other visuals in the dashboard.

My inital ideas for a solution:

1) Slicers with an OR condition

2) Only slice products of a specific category in the info table --> Is there a function to limit a slicer only on flagged entries?

Thank you in advance!

10 REPLIES 10
AliceW
Impactful Individual
Impactful Individual

Hi Pechher,

May I ask why would you need TWO slicers based on the sames column?

If you want the user to be able to select only one Category, you can make the visual into a one-selection.

As for limiting the slicer to only some options, you can do that by creating a page or report level filter with that column, hide it, and within just select the options you want to be seen. The slicer will only display those.

Hope this helps,

Alice

Anonymous
Not applicable

Hi AliceW,

the user just has a tremendous advantage to have two slicers, in order to compare product counterparts of different categories in one visual. Referring to the screenshot, the selection could be Slicer 1: Product A & Slicer 2: Product F:

Bildschirmfoto 2021-04-10 um 13.14.12.png

Applying a page level filter on dublicated slicers with "Product" from "Aggregated Table" does not allow a selection in both slicers, because of the connections.

An OR condition could be a solution for the two slicers, right?

Hope this explaines my problem better.

AliceW
Impactful Individual