Skip to main content
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Register now to learn Fabric in free live sessions led by the best Microsoft experts. From Apr 16 to May 9, in English and Spanish.

dacougars

Trying to write a DAX caclulate formula with filters not working.

I am relatively new to power BI and I am trying to get a formula to work.  I am trying to calculate using a measure and filtering out certain codes to get the net revenue.  However when I enter the below formula I get the following error

Too few arguments were passed to the FILTER function. The minimum argument count for the function is 2.

=Calculate([Actual Gross Revenue],
FILTER(LEFT('Service Billed Revenue'[Account & Subaccount 2],4)="4120" ||
LEFT('Service Billed Revenue'[Account & Subaccount 2],4)="4263"))

How do I write the above formula?  If someone could help me with this would be appreciated. 

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION
OwenAuger
Super User
Super User

Hi @dacougars

Without changing your tables in any way, I would write this particular formula like this:

=
CALCULATE (
    [Actual Gross Revenue],
    FILTER (
        VALUES ( 'Service Billed Revenue'[Account & Subaccount 2] ),
        LEFT ( 'Service Billed Revenue'[Account & Subaccount 2], 4 ) = "4120"
            || LEFT ( 'Service Billed Revenue'[Account & Subaccount 2], 4 ) = "4263"
    )
)

The main thing to note is that FILTER takes a table as its first argument, and a boolean expression as its second argument. The table can either be a physical table or a table produced by a DAX function. In this case, it is sufficient to filter the list of values in the column 'Service Billed Revenue'[Account & Subaccount 2] which is what VALUES ( 'Service Billed Revenue'[Account & Subaccount 2] ) gives us.