Skip to main content
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Register now to learn Fabric in free live sessions led by the best Microsoft experts. From Apr 16 to May 9, in English and Spanish.

Anonymous
Not applicable

Trying to use a string in a column to come up with a name

Hello, Sorry if I am not the best at explaining, I am fairly new to Power BI, but I will try to do my best. Basically I have a columnn [apppreffer] where about a third of the rows have some sort of variation of med001, med002...and so on. They located in the middle of a string such as DonnaApp_med001_CDL. Each of the med codes have a certain name that corresponds with them. I tried doing something with the containtstring fucntion and then the search function but I couldn't get the formatting correct. Any help is greatly appreciated.

Thank you,

Kieran L.

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

Hi @Anonymous 

This is available in Power BI Desktop.

Yes, you could pull out the Med codes in this table and connect it to a table that has the Med codes and their corresponding names.

That would be the easiest way.

Did I answer your question? Mark my post as a solution!

Proud to be a Super User!

View solution in original post

15 REPLIES 15
HotChilli
Super User
Super User

It looks like you want to extract any text that begins "med" . Is that right?  Do you want a new column?

Post a small data sample (not a picture) please and the desired output.  Someone will help.

Anonymous
Not applicable

Yes I want to use a column, because I tried using a measure but it wouldnt accept the column [apprefer] in the measure.

The column with the data goes something like this (on the left) with the desired output on the right

Group1201_med003_cdl-a-truck-driver-brandingGoogle - PPC -SF
Group1201_med241_Entry-Level-CDL-A-Truck-Driver-Earn-Top-Pay-FAST_StatesboroClickCast - programmatic -SF

Blank

AllTruckJobs - General Lead (Experienced)