cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Highlighted
Helper I
Helper I

Trying to use a string in a column to come up with a name

Hello, Sorry if I am not the best at explaining, I am fairly new to Power BI, but I will try to do my best. Basically I have a columnn [apppreffer] where about a third of the rows have some sort of variation of med001, med002...and so on. They located in the middle of a string such as DonnaApp_med001_CDL. Each of the med codes have a certain name that corresponds with them. I tried doing something with the containtstring fucntion and then the search function but I couldn't get the formatting correct. Any help is greatly appreciated.

Thank you,

Kieran L.

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

Accepted Solutions
Highlighted

Hi @klehane 

This is available in Power BI Desktop.

Yes, you could pull out the Med codes in this table and connect it to a table that has the Med codes and their corresponding names.

That would be the easiest way.

Did I answer your question? Mark my post as a solution!

Proud to be a Super User!

View solution in original post

15 REPLIES 15
Highlighted
Super User II
Super User II

It looks like you want to extract any text that begins "med" . Is that right?  Do you want a new column?

Post a small data sample (not a picture) please and the desired output.  Someone will help.

Highlighted

Yes I want to use a column, because I tried using a measure but it wouldnt accept the column [apprefer] in the measure.

The column with the data goes something like this (on the left) with the desired output on the right

Group1201_med003_cdl-a-truck-driver-brandingGoogle - PPC -SF
Group1201_med241_Entry-Level-CDL-A-Truck-Driver-Earn-Top-Pay-FAST_StatesboroClickCast - programmatic -SF

Blank

AllTruckJobs - General Lead (Experienced) 
1201App_med001_CDL-A-TRUCK-DRIVER-_10_000-IN-LONGEVITY-REWARDS_Atlanta_Campaign-South_LP_Indeed - PPC -SF
Highlighted