Skip to main content
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Register now to learn Fabric in free live sessions led by the best Microsoft experts. From Apr 16 to May 9, in English and Spanish.

htw17

Trying to Create a Calculated Column by joining multiple tables

I am new to Power BI. I went through most of the tutorials but I am not seeing a simple solution to my issue which I would assume is an easy one for Power BI. I am connecting to my Salesforce Data. I need to calculate Total Professional Fees.

This is derived by connecting 6 tables together.

An Employee has a Job Function Associated with them which provides a Standard Bill Rate (e.g. Jon Smith, Consultant =100)

From the Employee table you get the Employee Id / Name and the Job Function

The Job Function Table provides the Bill Rate for that Job Function

We then have a set of timesheets where the Employees time for an Engagement is provided

For instance Jon Smith Works 50 hours on Engagement ABC

The final Table I am trying to create in Power BI is something like this

For the Month of October 2016

Employee       Total Hours worked   Employee Bill Rate        Employee Fees

Employee A      100                              100                            $10,000

Employee B       200                              150                            $30,000

I am able to setup the relationship between the various tables in the relationship view but when I drag the fields into the Visualization the fields that need to use the joined relationships are not working correctly so the sums are not working correctly. For instance every employee shows the same Bill rate even though they have different job functions.

I asume Power BI has a simple way to relate the tables through a query but I must be missing how that is done.

4 REPLIES 4
v-ljerr-msft
Employee
Employee

Hi @htw17,

I asume Power BI has a simple way to relate the tables through a query but I must be missing how that is done.