Skip to main content
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Register now to learn Fabric in free live sessions led by the best Microsoft experts. From Apr 16 to May 9, in English and Spanish.

ChrisMendoza
Resident Rockstar
Resident Rockstar

Transpose/Transform Multiple Rows into Single Row

Hello, 

First thank you all for the work you do. This is my first time posting to the community however, I've been using your posts as guides for awhile. Most recently how to merge multiple rows into one row with different column based on row values.

Project Background

Every year I help another department produce an Email Merge using a .xlsx file. This year, I got tired of 

CTRL C ->  Up Arrow (x times) -> Right Arrow (y times) -> CTRL V -> CTRL -> T

so I decided to search for a Power Query solution, again thanks to your community.

You may ask, "Why doesn't your data warehouse write the query", and simply put, we work for the state. The request has been submitted for a number of years.

Using v-yulgu-msft's example:

I was able to take the 2-column example and make my data "fit". However I think there may be a better solution than what I've done.

let
    // Referencing an existing query called 'InvList'