Skip to main content
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Register now to learn Fabric in free live sessions led by the best Microsoft experts. From Apr 16 to May 9, in English and Spanish.

M_Tugz

Transforming data

Good day all,

I'm pretty new to Power BI, never coded in my life and desperately need your expertise and help. I would like to clean up and create a single row for my data. However, as you will see in the extract below, my reports has has inconsistent outputs where sometimes a transactions has 3 rows showing an account and an additional reference and sometimes two rows with just one refeence. I'm not sure if there's a single transformation in PowerBI i can use (I'm not yet on DAX!!)

Post dateReferenceNarrativeValue Date DebitCreditClosing Balance
21-Jul-17FT172P6MNKPayment21-Jul-17  1.021.02
  TR14322     
   AC - 45221     
21-Jul-17FT172S00XWAgent Transfer21-Jul-17  1.022.04
  TR54322     
1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION
MarcelBeug
Community Champion
Community Champion

At the same time I was preparing a similar solution along with a video for clarification.

I made some assumptions (about table keys and how the result should look like).

The code:

let
    Source = Table1,
    #"Filled Down" = Table.FillDown(Source,{"Post date", "Reference"}),
    Narratives = Table.Group(#"Filled Down", {"Post date", "Reference"}, {{"Narrative", each Text.Combine([Narrative], "#(lf)"), type text}}),
    Custom1 = Source,
    #"Removed Columns" = Table.RemoveColumns(Custom1,{"Narrative"}),
    #"Removed Blank Rows" = Table.SelectRows(#"Removed Columns", each not List.IsEmpty(List.RemoveMatchingItems(Record.FieldValues(_), {"", null}))),
    #"Merged Queries" = Table.NestedJoin(#"Removed Blank Rows",{"Post date", "Reference"},Narratives,{"Post date", "Reference"},"Narrative",JoinKind.LeftOuter),
    #"Expanded Narrative" = Table.ExpandTableColumn(#"Merged Queries", "Narrative", {"Narrative"}),