Skip to main content
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Register now to learn Fabric in free live sessions led by the best Microsoft experts. From Apr 16 to May 9, in English and Spanish.

Elissa123
Frequent Visitor

Transform date to duration or whole number in minutes to duration

Hi community,

I'm quite new to this amazing world of power BI and in desperate need of your help.

I want to calculate the average duration of an sla result comming from servicenow. The problem is that the duration can be over 24 hours. This is how the data is displayed on load.

Elissa123_0-1680274966458.png

As you can see, it's a date value. It doesn't allow me to convert this to duration using power query. I've tried to apply this https://community.powerbi.com/t5/Desktop/convert-minutes-into-hours-minutes-and-seconds-Not-Days/m-p...

But it gets me a text field and I need a duration type of field because I need that for a card that I want to filter dinamically with other graphs.

I've also managed to convert the whole duration to a whole number type of field where i have this duration in minutes. When trying to set it as duration, it just retrieves the number (minutes) as if they where days.

Is there a way to convert this whole number that is minutes into a duration? Or directly convert the original data field?

Please assist, this is hunting me at nights! lol

Thanks!

4 REPLIES 4
PhilipTreacy
Super User
Super User

Hi @Elissa123 

Download updated example PBIX file

Power Query has a duration data type but Power BI (DAX) does not.  So when you load the data from PQ into the model, that's why you are seeing the durations as a decimal.  Yeah, I know, 2 systems that talk to each other in the same program don't support the same data types.

Anyway, once you have the data loaded into the model and ready to display it, you have to manually format the decimal duration to display as you want.

I've written about doing this here