Skip to main content
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Register now to learn Fabric in free live sessions led by the best Microsoft experts. From Apr 16 to May 9, in English and Spanish.

corange
Post Patron
Post Patron

Total working hours / week

Hi everyone,

I am new to POWER BI and I am struggling to get to where I need. I have a set of data with daily start and finish time / employee. I have calculated the duration in minutes and then converted it in decimal hours.

I need to show the weekly average hours and then group them into categories (less than 20 hours / week , between 20hrs and 35 hours / week, and more than 35hrs / week). I have looked in the forum to obtain the total hours / week, creating a week number column but I am lost and can't achieve what I am after.

Would you be able to help me.

Thanks in advance.

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION
tex628
Community Champion
Community Champion

HOURLY BRACKETS = VAR DRIVER = DriverStartStop[Driver]
VAR WEEK = DriverStartStop[OUR NEW CREATED SUB-PERIOD]
RETURN
IF(CALCULATE(SUM(DriverStartStop[Decimal Hours Driver]), ALL(DriverStartStop), DriverStartStop[Driver]=DRIVER, DriverStartStop[weeknum]=WEEK)<20,"Less than 20hrs",
IF(CALCULATE(SUM(DriverStartStop[Decimal Hours Driver]), ALL(DriverStartStop), DriverStartStop[Driver]=DRIVER, DriverStartStop[weeknum]=WEEK)<=35,"Btw 20hrs & 35 hrs",
IF(CALCULATE(SUM(DriverStartStop[Decimal Hours Driver]), ALL(DriverStartStop), DriverStartStop[Driver]=DRIVER, DriverStartStop[weeknum]=WEEK)>35,"More than 35hrs")))

Instead of referencing the week we now want to reference the new sub period that we are using instead (P1_S1 ... P1_S2 ... and so on)

Connect on LinkedIn

View solution in original post

29 REPLIES 29
tex628
Community Champion
Community Champion

Hello, 

I would make a calculated column to classify each row. 

Column = 
VAR person = 'Table'[Person]
VAR week = 'Table'[Week]
return
IF(
Calculate( Sum( 'Table'[Hours] );
All( 'Table' );