Skip to main content
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Register now to learn Fabric in free live sessions led by the best Microsoft experts. From Apr 16 to May 9, in English and Spanish.

Anonymous
Not applicable

Total of subtotal in the same column

Hi all,

I'm new to Power BI and would like to ask for the way of making below report.

So my Data set is like this:

reporting lineValue
H0110
H025
H035
H0410
R01300
R02200
R03100

And I would need to make a report like this:

Total Hours Made15
   H01 10
   H02 5
Total Hours Hired15
  H035
  H0410
Total Hours30
Revenue 1500
  R01300
  R02200
Revenue 2100
  R03100
Total Revenue600

It's easy for me to make the "Total Hours Made", "Total Hours Hired", "Revenue 1", "Revenue 2". However, I'm stuck on how to make "Total Hour" and "total Revenue". Could anyone help me on this? 

Apreciate your help.

8 REPLIES 8
kcantor
Community Champion
Community Champion

@Anonymous 

You should be able to accomplish this by chosing to Show Values on Rows. To find this option, click on the format tool on the visualizations pane (looks like a paint roller), select to expand values, and then turn on Show on Rows. This should give you the view you would like. Keep in mind, you will need to have the matrix visual selected in the workspace in order to apply this step.

values on rows.JPG

Did I answer your question? Mark my post as a solution!

Proud to be a Super User!

Anonymous
Not applicable

@kcantor 

Sorry that I'm not really clear in my question. I have edited it. I'm not looking for the way to Show Values on Rows but the way to show subtotal within the same Column. (Column A in my Example. So "total Hours" is the sum of "Hour made" & "Hour hired", "Total Revenue" is the sum of "Revenue 1" & "Revenue 2". I want to show it in the same column with those "Hour made" & "Hour hired"& "Revenue 1" & "Revenue 2")

Thanks in advance.

@Anonymous