Skip to main content
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Register now to learn Fabric in free live sessions led by the best Microsoft experts. From Apr 16 to May 9, in English and Spanish.

Faz86
Frequent Visitor

Total newbie to Power BI, basic use case, seeking modelling and visualization advice

Hi all,

I am a brand new user to Power BI and trying to fulfill a few use cases. I was wondering if I could get some pointers on how best to model and visualise this use case as I begin my Power BI journey. The goal is to learn it and then get the business using it too, once they see the power of the tool.

I have a database table right now that shows artifact deployment data, loosely described as follows:

environment - Values can be (DEV, QA, PRE-PROD, PROD) etc

project code (which project, the artifact is associated with)

artifact group

artifact name

artifact version

artifact type - Values can be (SNAPSHOT, RELEASE)

deployment time

There are tonnes of metrics I want to visualise but I would like help with the following:

1. SNAPSHOTS are not allowed on any environments other than DEV therefore I want to show which SNAPSHOTS have mistakenly been pushed to the other environments, for each project.

2. Which RELEASES have been pushed to PROD that have not gone through DEV, QA, PRE-PROD, for each project.

3. Average time spent in each environment for each module, per project before it is promoted to the next environment

For these 3 use cases, I would greatly appreciate advice on the best way to model this data in Power BI and the best visualises to display this data for report users.

Thanks in advance

4 REPLIES 4
Greg_Deckler
Super User
Super User

@Faz86 Welcome. Sorry, having trouble following, can you post sample data as text and expected output?