Skip to main content
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Register now to learn Fabric in free live sessions led by the best Microsoft experts. From Apr 16 to May 9, in English and Spanish.

Anonymous
Not applicable

Top n function based on increase/decrease in data over time

I want to create a measure that allows me to find the top 5 and bottom 5 for departments over a course of 2 months.

I have already created a measure that finds the percent difference between payments from one month to the next, now I would like to be able to compare and visualize that difference.

I want to find the top 5 deparmets with the greatest increase in payments and the bottom 5 departments with the greatest decrease in payments.

I'm fairly new to Power BI so I am not sure how to go about doing this. Here is a sample of my data:

DATE

DEPARTMENT

PAYMENTS

Increase/Decrease

February

March

-83%

February

March

48%

February

March

-87%

I really appreciate the help and I thank you all in advance!

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION
v-yuta-msft
Community Support
Community Support

@Anonymous ,

Please convert Increase/Decrease to calculate column, then create two tables by clicking Modeling-> New Table using DAX below:

Top 5 Increase = TOPN(5, FILTER('Table', 'Table'[Increase/Decrease] > 0), 'Table'[Increase/Decrease], DESC)

1.PNG 

Bottom 5 Decrease = TOPN(5, FILTER('Table', 'Table'[Increase/Decrease] < 0), 'Table'[Increase/Decrease], ASC)

2.PNG 

Community Support Team _ Jimmy Tao

If this post helps, then please consider Accept it as the solution to help the other members find it more quickly.

View solution in original post

1 REPLY 1
v-yuta-msft
Community Support
Community Support

@Anonymous ,

Please convert Increase/Decrease to calculate column, then create two tables by clicking Modeling-> New Table using DAX below:

Top 5 Increase = TOPN(5, FILTER('Table', 'Table'[Increase/Decrease] > 0), 'Table'[Increase/Decrease], DESC)

1.PNG