Skip to main content
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Earn the coveted Fabric Analytics Engineer certification. 100% off your exam for a limited time only!

rlaughli
Frequent Visitor

Top 10 by different measures on a slicer

Hello, 

I'm relatively new to PBI so this issue might very well be something that has already been covered elsewhere (and I just haven't been able to find it in my searches over the past few days; I have done a good bit of looking but perhaps I have missed something). 

I have seen many articles/videos/etc describing in great detail how to create a slicer that can dynamically switch between different Top Ns such as Top 5, 10, 15, 20, etc. However, an end user of mine would like something a little different. In short, they don't need a selection of top n's, they are fine with having only Top 10.

For context, I have created a rather simple matrix for them that has a dimension of Merchant Type and 3 simple measures: $ Amount, # of Transactions, and $/Transactions. What they would like is this: 1) to have a slicer that has the 3 measures as values to select, 2) for the matrix to adjust based on this selection and to return the respective Top 10 by the selection while keeping the other 2 measures for those particular 10 merchant types. So essentially they would like to be able to easily toggle between the 'By' portion of a Top 10 by filter without having to use the filter pane and manually change the by selection. 

Here is an example: the user selects '$ Amount' on the slicer and the matrix adjusts to show the Top 10 merchant types by $ Amount with those 10 merchants' # of Transactions along with their $/Transaction. If they select '$/Transaction' on the slicer, they will see the Top 10 merchant types by $/Transaction with those 10 merchants' $ Amount and # of Transactions. 

If this is something that is possible, any tips/resources/assistance would be greatly appreciated. 

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION