Skip to main content
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Register now to learn Fabric in free live sessions led by the best Microsoft experts. From Apr 16 to May 9, in English and Spanish.

Rajbunny

Timeline showing start date, end date and current date per project/initiative

Hi All - I am relatively new to power BI so there may already be a solution to my problem. I am trying to create a visualisation that looks like this

PowerBI timeline.jpg

from the below data source.  where the timeline above would be dependent on the initiative selected below.

TimelineStartTimeline EndInitiatives
01-Aug-1731-Aug-17Intiative 1
02-Aug-1701-Oct-17Intiative 2
03-Aug-1701-Nov-17Intiative 3
04-Aug-1702-Dec-17Intiative 4
15-Aug-1712-Jan-18Intiative 5
06-Aug-1702-Feb-18Intiative 6
07-Aug-1706-Sep-17Intiative 7
28-Aug-1727-Oct-17Intiative 8
01-Sep-1730-Nov-17Intiative 9
10-Sep-1708-Jan-18Intiative 10
21-Aug-1718-Jan-18Intiative 11
22-Aug-1718-Feb-18Intiative 12
02-Oct-1701-Nov-17Intiative 13
04-Oct-1703-Dec-17Intiative 14
04-Oct-1702-Jan-18Intiative 15
05-Oct-1702-Feb-18Intiative 16
08-Oct-1707-Mar-18Intiative 17
14-Oct-1712-Apr-18Intiative 18
14-Oct-1713-Nov-17Intiative 19
14-Oct-1713-Dec-17Intiative 20
16-Oct-1714-Jan-18Intiative 21
14-Oct-1711-Feb-18Intiative 22

Ive already wasted several days trying to figure this one out - for some reason I am unable to understand these timeline visualisations and how the source data needs to look in order to create the visualisation.

Would much appreciate if someone could point out a visualisation i could use and advise how the source data should look in order to get the visualisation to work. 

3 REPLIES 3
vanessafvg
Super User
Super User

@Rajbunny maybe its better to discuss what your objective is?  are you wanting to slice by month?   which visual are you using because there are several that use time, is the the timeline storyteller?